Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 11:15 am

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Make sure your tutorials are kept up to date with the latest MS4 releases.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1259 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 51  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:21 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 2:59 pm
Posts: 143
Location: London, England
Google Talk: aeronjl+mirage@googlemail.com
Heh, thought someone would say that.
Then how?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:39 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Use a tickcount check.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:01 pm 
Bug, seems small, but it's a big thing with this system.

Find:
Code:
If GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon) = FishRod Then


Replace with:
Code:
If GetPlayerInvItemNum(Index, GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon)) = FishRod Then


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:35 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Matt wrote:
Bug, seems small, but it's a big thing with this system.

Find:
Code:
If GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon) = FishRod Then


Replace with:
Code:
If GetPlayerInvItemNum(Index, GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon)) = FishRod Then


I've typed that in wrong so many times. I've learnt to check for it now.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:04 am 
A small addon you could do, is to add a tickcount timer to force the player to wait a period of time, like 30 seconds, so it actually takes time to fish and blit an icon above the player's head, so that everyone knows the player is fishing.

I suggest adding a loading bar of sorts to show how much time is left.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:01 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:42 am
Posts: 703
Google Talk: infectiousbyte@gmail.com
Matt wrote:
A small addon you could do, is to add a tickcount timer to force the player to wait a period of time, like 30 seconds, so it actually takes time to fish and blit an icon above the player's head, so that everyone knows the player is fishing.

I suggest adding a loading bar of sorts to show how much time is left.


Thanks for all the feedback guys. And thanks Matt, I think I'll go ahead and give that a try. Shouldn't be too hard, though I haven't used GetTickCount for timing, before. This could be a challenge. I dunno, we'll see.

_________________
Image
GIAKEN wrote:
Since I'm into men, not women

GIAKEN wrote:
I can't take these huge penises anymore! All that's left is shame! And blood


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:47 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Nean wrote:
Matt wrote:
A small addon you could do, is to add a tickcount timer to force the player to wait a period of time, like 30 seconds, so it actually takes time to fish and blit an icon above the player's head, so that everyone knows the player is fishing.

I suggest adding a loading bar of sorts to show how much time is left.


Thanks for all the feedback guys. And thanks Matt, I think I'll go ahead and give that a try. Shouldn't be too hard, though I haven't used GetTickCount for timing, before. This could be a challenge. I dunno, we'll see.


Code:
If GetTickCount > TimerValue + 3000 then
    ' code to check something
    TimerValue = GetTickCount
end if


All it does is store the 'current' time in the TimerValue, then checks to see if it is 3 seconds ahead of when it was stored. The code in the if statement will run as soon as 3 seconds has passed since it was last run, then the new current time is stored in the TimerValue, allowing a loop.

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:28 pm 
No problem. I used your system as a base and highly modified it. It's actually a really good base system. Me and Rian were fishin' for about an hour just because it was so awesome. Lol.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:20 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 30
Hello , i've a problem ! :(
I don't find this code :
Code:
' Used for map key open editor
Public KeyOpenEditorX As Long

Public KeyOpenEditorY As Long


How is this sub code?

thank you :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:23 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
It's in modGlobals

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:27 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 8
when I try to fish I get booted from the server for packet modification... Did I do something wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:28 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:11 pm
Posts: 633
what code does it highlight and make sure you put it in right

_________________
╔╗╔═╦═╦══╦═══╗
║║║║║║║╔╗║╔═╗║
║║║║║║║╚╝║║║║║
║╚╣║║║║╔╗║╚═╝║
╚═╩╩═╩╩╝╚╩═══╝


╔╦═╦╦════╦═══╗
║║║║╠═╗╔═╣╔══╝
║║║║║║║║╚═╗
║║║║║║║║╔═╝
╚═╩═╝╚╝╚╝ ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:48 pm 
Doomy wrote:
what code does it highlight and make sure you put it in right


Doesn't highlight anything. It calls a hacking attempt, for packet modification. Odds are, he's got something mixed up.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:03 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:11 pm
Posts: 633
I thought it would highlight which packet was being modified if he ran it in vb6.

_________________
╔╗╔═╦═╦══╦═══╗
║║║║║║║╔╗║╔═╗║
║║║║║║║╚╝║║║║║
║╚╣║║║║╔╗║╚═╝║
╚═╩╩═╩╩╝╚╩═══╝


╔╦═╦╦════╦═══╗
║║║║╠═╗╔═╣╔══╝
║║║║║║║║╚═╗
║║║║║║║║╔═╝
╚═╩═╝╚╝╚╝ ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 8
Yeah it compiles fine... It's just when I push ctrl to fish it boots me off for packet modification, I'll just go through everything again and see if it was my fault.

Edit: Is it the client that calls the Packet modification or the server? Just trying to get a general idea of where the issue might be.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:52 pm 
kasuko wrote:
Yeah it compiles fine... It's just when I push ctrl to fish it boots me off for packet modification, I'll just go through everything again and see if it was my fault.

Edit: Is it the client that calls the Packet modification or the server? Just trying to get a general idea of where the issue might be.


All hacking attempts are called via the server.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:58 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 8
Thanks for your quick reply, I just checked everything in client and server. It all checked out okay according to the tutorial I don't know what else to do.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:27 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
Your packets are messed up.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:03 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 30
Hello, I have a little problem here the player goes on the box to sin, if he did not have bait, there is a bug in the server! :oops:

In this Modplayer :
Code:
Function GetPlayerInvItemNum(ByVal Index As Long, ByVal InvSlot As Long) As Long
    GetPlayerInvItemNum = Player(Index).Char(TempPlayer(Index).CharNum).Inv(InvSlot).Num
End Function


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:52 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 8
Hey Rian is it the things that are listed? The things that have to be listed in two lists in the same exact order? Thanks for telling me the exact problem ^_^

Edit: Man this really stinks I have no clue what I'm doing wrong... I tried it on a clean source and I still get the same problem...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:14 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 15, 2008 3:11 pm
Posts: 633
are you sure your using ms4 and not ms3

_________________
╔╗╔═╦═╦══╦═══╗
║║║║║║║╔╗║╔═╗║
║║║║║║║╚╝║║║║║
║╚╣║║║║╔╗║╚═╝║
╚═╩╩═╩╩╝╚╩═══╝


╔╦═╦╦════╦═══╗
║║║║╠═╗╔═╣╔══╝
║║║║║║║║╚═╗
║║║║║║║║╔═╝
╚═╩═╝╚╝╚╝ ?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:07 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 8
Yeah I'm positive I'm using MS4


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:45 am 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 9:42 am
Posts: 30
Me too i'm using MS4 , but i've a problem
help me pls :oops:


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:47 pm 
Offline
Newbie

Joined: Wed Mar 25, 2009 11:58 pm
Posts: 8
Has anyone figured out the exact problem, I've redone this tutorial on a blank source two times now. So I know it's not me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Fishing
PostPosted: Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:05 pm 
kasuko wrote:
Has anyone figured out the exact problem, I've redone this tutorial on a blank source two times now. So I know it's not me.


Upload your source and send me the link via PM.


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 1259 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 51  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group