Mirage Source
http://miragesource.net/forums/

Fishing
http://miragesource.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=183&t=5050
Page 2 of 60

Author:  Acruno [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Heh, thought someone would say that.
Then how?

Author:  Robin [ Wed Feb 18, 2009 6:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Use a tickcount check.

Author:  Matt [ Tue Feb 24, 2009 8:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Bug, seems small, but it's a big thing with this system.

Find:
Code:
If GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon) = FishRod Then


Replace with:
Code:
If GetPlayerInvItemNum(Index, GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon)) = FishRod Then

Author:  Robin [ Wed Feb 25, 2009 5:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Matt wrote:
Bug, seems small, but it's a big thing with this system.

Find:
Code:
If GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon) = FishRod Then


Replace with:
Code:
If GetPlayerInvItemNum(Index, GetPlayerEquipmentSlot(Index, Weapon)) = FishRod Then


I've typed that in wrong so many times. I've learnt to check for it now.

Author:  Matt [ Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

A small addon you could do, is to add a tickcount timer to force the player to wait a period of time, like 30 seconds, so it actually takes time to fish and blit an icon above the player's head, so that everyone knows the player is fishing.

I suggest adding a loading bar of sorts to show how much time is left.

Author:  Nean [ Fri Feb 27, 2009 2:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Matt wrote:
A small addon you could do, is to add a tickcount timer to force the player to wait a period of time, like 30 seconds, so it actually takes time to fish and blit an icon above the player's head, so that everyone knows the player is fishing.

I suggest adding a loading bar of sorts to show how much time is left.


Thanks for all the feedback guys. And thanks Matt, I think I'll go ahead and give that a try. Shouldn't be too hard, though I haven't used GetTickCount for timing, before. This could be a challenge. I dunno, we'll see.

Author:  Robin [ Fri Feb 27, 2009 4:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Nean wrote:
Matt wrote:
A small addon you could do, is to add a tickcount timer to force the player to wait a period of time, like 30 seconds, so it actually takes time to fish and blit an icon above the player's head, so that everyone knows the player is fishing.

I suggest adding a loading bar of sorts to show how much time is left.


Thanks for all the feedback guys. And thanks Matt, I think I'll go ahead and give that a try. Shouldn't be too hard, though I haven't used GetTickCount for timing, before. This could be a challenge. I dunno, we'll see.


Code:
If GetTickCount > TimerValue + 3000 then
    ' code to check something
    TimerValue = GetTickCount
end if


All it does is store the 'current' time in the TimerValue, then checks to see if it is 3 seconds ahead of when it was stored. The code in the if statement will run as soon as 3 seconds has passed since it was last run, then the new current time is stored in the TimerValue, allowing a loop.

Author:  Matt [ Fri Feb 27, 2009 5:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

No problem. I used your system as a base and highly modified it. It's actually a really good base system. Me and Rian were fishin' for about an hour just because it was so awesome. Lol.

Author:  Pix€l [ Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:20 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Hello , i've a problem ! :(
I don't find this code :
Code:
' Used for map key open editor
Public KeyOpenEditorX As Long

Public KeyOpenEditorY As Long


How is this sub code?

thank you :wink:

Author:  Rian [ Fri Mar 20, 2009 7:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

It's in modGlobals

Author:  kasuko [ Thu Mar 26, 2009 9:27 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

when I try to fish I get booted from the server for packet modification... Did I do something wrong?

Author:  Doomy [ Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:28 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

what code does it highlight and make sure you put it in right

Author:  Matt [ Thu Mar 26, 2009 10:48 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Doomy wrote:
what code does it highlight and make sure you put it in right


Doesn't highlight anything. It calls a hacking attempt, for packet modification. Odds are, he's got something mixed up.

Author:  Doomy [ Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

I thought it would highlight which packet was being modified if he ran it in vb6.

Author:  kasuko [ Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:30 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Yeah it compiles fine... It's just when I push ctrl to fish it boots me off for packet modification, I'll just go through everything again and see if it was my fault.

Edit: Is it the client that calls the Packet modification or the server? Just trying to get a general idea of where the issue might be.

Author:  Matt [ Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

kasuko wrote:
Yeah it compiles fine... It's just when I push ctrl to fish it boots me off for packet modification, I'll just go through everything again and see if it was my fault.

Edit: Is it the client that calls the Packet modification or the server? Just trying to get a general idea of where the issue might be.


All hacking attempts are called via the server.

Author:  kasuko [ Thu Mar 26, 2009 11:58 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Thanks for your quick reply, I just checked everything in client and server. It all checked out okay according to the tutorial I don't know what else to do.

Author:  Rian [ Fri Mar 27, 2009 1:27 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Your packets are messed up.

Author:  Pix€l [ Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:03 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Hello, I have a little problem here the player goes on the box to sin, if he did not have bait, there is a bug in the server! :oops:

In this Modplayer :
Code:
Function GetPlayerInvItemNum(ByVal Index As Long, ByVal InvSlot As Long) As Long
    GetPlayerInvItemNum = Player(Index).Char(TempPlayer(Index).CharNum).Inv(InvSlot).Num
End Function

Author:  kasuko [ Fri Mar 27, 2009 7:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Hey Rian is it the things that are listed? The things that have to be listed in two lists in the same exact order? Thanks for telling me the exact problem ^_^

Edit: Man this really stinks I have no clue what I'm doing wrong... I tried it on a clean source and I still get the same problem...

Author:  Doomy [ Fri Mar 27, 2009 10:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

are you sure your using ms4 and not ms3

Author:  kasuko [ Fri Mar 27, 2009 11:07 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Yeah I'm positive I'm using MS4

Author:  Pix€l [ Sat Mar 28, 2009 8:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Me too i'm using MS4 , but i've a problem
help me pls :oops:

Author:  kasuko [ Sat Mar 28, 2009 4:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

Has anyone figured out the exact problem, I've redone this tutorial on a blank source two times now. So I know it's not me.

Author:  Matt [ Sat Mar 28, 2009 5:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Fishing

kasuko wrote:
Has anyone figured out the exact problem, I've redone this tutorial on a blank source two times now. So I know it's not me.


Upload your source and send me the link via PM.

Page 2 of 60 All times are UTC
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
https://www.phpbb.com/