Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Fri Apr 19, 2024 6:44 pm

All times are UTC


Forum rules


Make sure your tutorials are kept up to date with the latest MS4 releases.



Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 12:42 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 20
This tutorial will basically be explaining to some people who aren't as good at visual basic than others, how to make a pretty good security system, so if they have don't know how to improve their security, or don't know what type of method to use. than they can read this tutorial.

:: Client Side ::

Make a new form called frmSecurity and make as many text boxes as you like(recommended 4 or more).
Make a command button and name it cmdSecure.

Go to frmLogin and double click the connect button and before end sub paste this in:

Code:
If txtUsername.text = [Administrator's Account Username] & txtPassword.text = [Administrators Account Password]
  Msgbox " You are attempting to login with an administrative account, if you own the account you may proceed, if you do not than do not login because if you do you are bound to be caught and banned." Then
  frmLogin.hide
  frmSecurity.show
  End if
  End Sub


Next get ready for some editing in frmSecurity. Double click the text boxes.
If you are using 4 text boxes than paste each of these into the correct box.

Rename the first box Sec, the 2nd box Sec2, the third box to Sec3 and the fourth box to Sec4.

We will use the numbers 1,2,3, & 4 to pass the Security System and allow you to login with your administrative account.

Double click the "Secure" button and paste this in:

Code:
 If Sec.text = 1 & Sec2.text = 2 & Sec3.text = 3 & Sec4.text = 4 Then
  frmSecurity.hide
  frmCharacters.show



I won't really put any server side tutorial up because you prety much have to go through the same process, but you have to open up the server source and add a frmSecurity form there.

I wish you luck if you are just learning to use visual Basic, but if you are already know how to use it than I hope my tutorial helped you. I wrote this tutorial from another family member's computer and he doesn't have visual basic so I tried to write this as error-free as possible, if there are any errors I will fix them when I test this out at home.

Thank you :) !


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:24 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 866
Location: United Kingdom
Erm. xD


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 1:55 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 20
Hello, I hope I didn't do anything wrong.
Did I ? :|


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:06 am 
Ciao wrote:
Hello, I hope I didn't do anything wrong.
Did I ? :|


This isn't exactly security.. Not even close.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 2:20 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 866
Location: United Kingdom
Well,

You are compiling an administrators user name and password into the distributable client in order to do a client-side security check? Um.

I don't know if someone has removed it from ms4, however there used to be server-side character creation check on "consty" - you should use that for reference.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 7:57 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 11:25 pm
Posts: 860
Location: Ayer
This is bad, I think you should delete it or modify it because client side..
emphasize the word client O___O, you could make a AdminIP.txt,
check for the user who logged in matches any of the IP in that text file
and set their access to 4. When they log off set it to 0.

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 10:30 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 20
Im new to this stuff so im sorry if it wasn't really that great.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 09, 2009 11:51 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:42 am
Posts: 703
Google Talk: infectiousbyte@gmail.com
Ciao wrote:
Im new to this stuff so im sorry if it wasn't really that great.


The tutorial itself is fine, it's just that this offers virtually no security what so ever. Keep working on your skill, and I'm sure you'll be spitting out worthwhile tutorials left and right.

_________________
Image
GIAKEN wrote:
Since I'm into men, not women

GIAKEN wrote:
I can't take these huge penises anymore! All that's left is shame! And blood


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2009 12:59 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Constant strings are stored in the EXE in plain text :D

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:09 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2009 2:45 am
Posts: 20
Thanks Nean, and Lea im sorry but I don't know what you mean by that :/
I want to take a guess though.

Would it mean that when you type something in, its stored and someone might be able to still get in either way?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:18 am 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 597
try opening a .exe from notepad :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2009 1:46 am 
Or a hex editor.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 3:15 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 6:59 pm
Posts: 213
-Cough- Pack your exe's if you don't want your constants to be readable -Cough-

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:11 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sat Jul 08, 2006 8:24 am
Posts: 339
-cough- clients dont need security -cough-


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:45 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 597
that entirely depends on what you have going on in your client.

some people would rather have everything happen on the server.
Robin, being different as usual, has a lot of stuff going on in his client.

just a matter of opinion.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 12:55 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 866
Location: United Kingdom
Pbcrazy wrote:
that entirely depends on what you have going on in your client.

some people would rather have everything happen on the server.
Robin, being different as usual, has a lot of stuff going on in his client.

just a matter of opinion.


Your opinion is wrong :3


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 23, 2009 5:09 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:42 am
Posts: 703
Google Talk: infectiousbyte@gmail.com
Pbcrazy wrote:
that entirely depends on what you have going on in your client.

some people would rather have everything happen on the server.
Robin, being different as usual, has a lot of stuff going on in his client.

just a matter of opinion.


Uhhh, doesn't matter if they'd rather have things in their client, it's bad security. Clients can be fooled, it's much much harder to fool the server. That's the reasoning behind the server access checks, rather than client access checks.

_________________
Image
GIAKEN wrote:
Since I'm into men, not women

GIAKEN wrote:
I can't take these huge penises anymore! All that's left is shame! And blood


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:22 am 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 597
first off, how the fuck can an opinion be wrong? maybe controversial to yours but not wrong.

secondly, sure, you can do stuff on you're client, if you're looking to have a lot of players, and don't want your server to be slowed down, it may (may) be a better choice.

And yes, of course, you run into security problems, and will have to find a way to make it more secure. packing them, as jokeofweek suggested would be one way.

other wise of course, checks to the server for permission to do stuff, would be another. however a lot of the thinking and "AI" (as dumb as it may be in MS), could be used on the client, to keep down usage on the server. Of course, again, with proper security.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:44 am 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Pbcrazy wrote:
...however a lot of the thinking and "AI" (as dumb as it may be in MS), could be used on the client, to keep down usage on the server. Of course, again, with proper security.
Impossible(w/ security)

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:02 am 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 597
please explain. I'd like to know.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 2:37 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 24, 2008 6:42 am
Posts: 703
Google Talk: infectiousbyte@gmail.com
THE CLIENT CAN BE TRICKED. How fucking dull do you get? The server can't be tricked (It's much much harder), therefore security checks in the client are pointless. The only way anything can be put in the client, is if it holds no threat of abuse, whatsoever.

_________________
Image
GIAKEN wrote:
Since I'm into men, not women

GIAKEN wrote:
I can't take these huge penises anymore! All that's left is shame! And blood


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 2:40 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 10:30 pm
Posts: 1510
Location: Virginia, USA
Google Talk: hpmccloud@gmail.com
Yeah the AI definitely can't be handled AT ALL in the client...that was just retarded.

_________________
Nean wrote:
Yes harold. Give it to me.

Image
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:37 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 22, 2008 2:15 am
Posts: 597
ok sorry, but ya know, i haven't done much programming...in a long time.

so by tricked you mean sending a packet to it other than from the server?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:00 pm 
Pbcrazy wrote:
ok sorry, but ya know, i haven't done much programming...in a long time.

so by tricked you mean sending a packet to it other than from the server?


Let me paint a picture for you. Say the game you want to hack is MS based. Say they handle everything client side. What's to stop you from picking up a vanilla source, programming your own client and doing whatever the fuck you want? Kinda the same way with packet hacking and hex hacking.


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 24, 2009 1:19 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 5:27 pm
Posts: 866
Location: United Kingdom
Its got nothing to do with security,

how the fuck would the AI be client-side? I mean honestly, tell me, I'd like to know.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: wanai and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group