Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 12:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Sun Nov 11, 2007 11:12 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
Ok, i got the database working but when I go to make an character, when I click create, it gives my server an error and highlights

If .FKey = 0 Then
.FKey = RS!FKey
End If

Whats wrong?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:48 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
What error number do you get, and what does it say?

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:30 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
Ok, everything works fine. I log into my account, click create new character, enter a character name and choose my class, then when I click on create it gives me:

Compile Error:

Invalid or unqualified reference

And it highlights the .FKey in the If .FKey = 0 Then

Code:
Sub AddChar(ByVal Index As Long, ByVal Name As String, ByVal Sex As Byte, ByVal ClassNum As Byte, ByVal CharNum As Long)
Dim RS As ADODB.Recordset
Set RS = New ADODB.Recordset
Dim I As Long

        RS.Open "SELECT * FROM characters;", Conn_Client, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic
        RS.AddNew

        RS!Account = Player(Index).FKey
        RS!Name = Trim$(Name)
        RS!Sex = Sex
        RS!Class = ClassNum
        RS!Sprite = Class(ClassNum).Sprite
        RS!Level = 1
        RS!str = Class(ClassNum).str
        RS!DEF = Class(ClassNum).DEF
        RS!SPEED = Class(ClassNum).SPEED
        RS!MAGI = Class(ClassNum).MAGI
        RS!Map = 1
        RS!X = 1
        RS!Y = 1
        RS!HP = 10
        RS!MP = 10
        RS!SP = 10
        RS.Update
   
    If .FKey = 0 Then
        .FKey = RS!FKey
    End If

    RS.Close
    Set RS = Nothing
End Sub


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:34 am 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Replace:
If .FKey = 0 Then
.FKey = RS!FKey
End If
with:
If Player(Index).FKey = 0 Then
Player(Index).FKey = RS!FKey
End If

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 6:35 am 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
Hmm. I really don't understand much of the SQL related stuff in VB, but it looks like it should be in some sort of With

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:23 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
Dragoons Master wrote:
Replace:
If .FKey = 0 Then
.FKey = RS!FKey
End If
with:
If Player(Index).FKey = 0 Then
Player(Index).FKey = RS!FKey
End If


I did do that and it totally froze up my server..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 12:58 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Well, it fixed your error, but now you have a new one. Before you click on create account, go to the server and stop it then press F8, and then click on create account. You'll see that the server is running line by line, so you can press F8 a few times and make sure where the bug is, I mean the line...

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:32 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
Ok I would try this, but now it keeps saying "Access Denied" when I click on create char


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:36 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
You need to be an administrator to run a server... I think that's the problem.
You realy need to xD
Edit:
Btw, is this a system msg or an error or what?

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 4:45 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
Like it worked when I made a new account, its a msgbox error


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 5:23 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
There is no msg like "Access Denied" in vanila MSE... I don't know... I don't think this is a msgbox from MSE, it probably is a problem w/ your access level...

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:33 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
Well I dont know.. I downloaded 3.0.7 bcuz I would really love to use a database. I used that 3.0.7 installation guide which is stickied and then used his dump file which set up my database. Now, everything runs fine except creating a new character. I put in the Sub AddChar from the installation guide and it doesnt work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 8:42 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
Take a look at MySql user information, now that you said this, I think it is your MySql user that does not have the permissions to create a new record. Take a look at that!

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:37 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
Quote:
I recommened using my sql dump. This will give you 5 maps, 5 shops, 5 items, 5 npcs, and 5 spells. Set your MAX_ variables to equal these (both client and server) and test out your 3.0.7 server.

Did you sett all MAX_ to 5?

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 9:49 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:23 pm
Posts: 128
Sorry, this is the sub that should've been posted (my bad) with my guide:
Code:
Sub AddChar(ByVal Index As Long, ByVal Name As String, ByVal Sex As Byte, ByVal ClassNum As Byte, ByVal CharNum As Long)
Dim RS As ADODB.Recordset
Set RS = New ADODB.Recordset
           
        RS.Open "SELECT * FROM characters;", Conn_Client, adOpenStatic, adLockOptimistic
        RS.AddNew

        RS!Account = Player(Index).FKey
        RS!Name = Trim(Name)
        RS!Sex = Sex
        RS!Class = ClassNum
        RS!Sprite = Class(ClassNum).Sprite
        RS!Level = 1
        RS!str = Class(ClassNum).str
        RS!DEF = Class(ClassNum).DEF
        RS!SPEED = Class(ClassNum).SPEED
        RS!MAGI = Class(ClassNum).MAGI
        RS!Map = 1
        RS!X = 1
        RS!Y = 1
        RS!HP = 10
        RS!MP = 10
        RS!SP = 10
        RS.Update
   
    If Player(Index).Char(CharNum).FKey = 0 Then
        Player(Index).Char(CharNum).FKey = RS!FKey
    End If

    RS.Close
    Set RS = Nothing
End Sub
Give that a try.
If that still doesn't work, you can just use my download link: http://www.talkanime.net/3.0.7/MS3.0.7v2.rar MS 3.0.7 which has all of the fixes/changes mentioned in my guide implemented.

William wrote:
Quote:
I recommened using my sql dump. This will give you 5 maps, 5 shops, 5 items, 5 npcs, and 5 spells. Set your MAX_ variables to equal these (both client and server) and test out your 3.0.7 server.

Did you sett all MAX_ to 5?
=P If he didn't change the MAX values, the server wouldn't start at all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:11 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
Ok cruzn, thx. I downloaded that one from your link and well, I set up the db and it worked. But now when I click on create character, it says connected and all that but the server totally freezes..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 6:49 pm 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Sun Nov 04, 2007 2:47 pm
Posts: 40
Beres wrote:
Ok cruzn, thx. I downloaded that one from your link and well, I set up the db and it worked. But now when I click on create character, it says connected and all that but the server totally freezes..


I have the same problem, can I help me please ?

(thanks you in advance)

El_Dindonnier.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3.0.7 help
PostPosted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:01 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2007 12:23 am
Posts: 199
I actually got this working now.. What I did was just download the old 3.0.7, and did the installation guide.. EXCEPT, I didnt put in the AddChar sub. I left it as it was and well it connects and everything runs fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group