Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Fri Mar 29, 2024 11:21 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Old Bug
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 6:59 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
Quote:
' Characters (we use 0 to prevent a crash that still needs to be figured out)
Char(0 To MAX_CHARS) As PlayerRec

Found in the account rec. I wonder if this is anything major.

Has anyone looked into this? Has anyone noticed it?

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:16 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:40 pm
Posts: 132
atully that is major since if you change your code just sligty it gives that off as a runtime error and the you have to get red or redo the whole thing in player rec to get it to allow your player to create new charters and log on even.


I say it needs to be fixed and optimized.

_________________
http://spirea.flphost.com come and join today i got flash games lol.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 7:21 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
Never seen it, but guess its worth checking out.

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 8:22 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Fri Aug 25, 2006 6:40 pm
Posts: 132
thanx from both me and sonire.

_________________
http://spirea.flphost.com come and join today i got flash games lol.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:34 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 430
I don't see why it needs to be changed.
Whats the diff starting from 0 as opposed to 1?
Arrays in languages outside of vb start at 0...its nothing crazy.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:36 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
It cant be that hard to find a fix.

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 10:46 pm 
Offline
Persistant Poster
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 2:07 am
Posts: 836
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Google Talk: rs.ruggles@gmail.com
Misunderstood wrote:
I don't see why it needs to be changed.
Whats the diff starting from 0 as opposed to 1?
Arrays in languages outside of vb start at 0...its nothing crazy.


Good. :P
Just wanted confirmation that this is nothing serious.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus My Youtube Channel My Steam Profile

Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:00 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
So, I checked it out. This was the problem when you changed it to 1:
Code:
Function GetPlayerMap(ByVal Index As Long) As Long
        GetPlayerMap = Player(Index).Char(Player(Index).CharNum).Map
End Function

supscript out of range 9

So it should work by changing that function to:
Code:
Function GetPlayerMap(ByVal Index As Long) As Long
    If Player(Index).CharNum > 0 And Player(Index).CharNum < MAX_CHARS + 1 Then
        GetPlayerMap = Player(Index).Char(Player(Index).CharNum).Map
    End If
End Function

Have not done much testing thought. Seems to work fine.

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Old Bug
PostPosted: Tue Jul 15, 2008 3:15 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
You should have all your arrays start from 0. Gets you ready to move into the bigger languages :P

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group