Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 4:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: "Mini" Map Editor
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 1:19 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:15 am
Posts: 368
I saw this in a non ms game a little while ago and i was a bit entrigued by it. It was a way to make maps but it was zoomed waaaaay out so you could map 4 maps at a time, and you could scroll around and see how the entire game looked, so it made it easier to connect the maps. I'm not really sure how they layed the maps together, or how they made it smaller than usual, but if someone could atleast point me to into that i'll write a tutorial and/or release code so that can be a new thing for MS. I just don't have a clue as to how he blted the maps, but smaller...

_________________
Image
Image
The quality of a man is not measured by how well he treats the knowledgeable and competent, but rather how he treats those less fortunate than himself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jun 21, 2006 4:39 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:58 pm
Posts: 370
Code:
         Dim ZoomOption as Integer

         ZoomOption = 50 'i tihnk this is good enough

        ' Get the rect to blit to
        Call DX.GetWindowRect(frmMirage.picScreen.hwnd, rec_pos)
        rec_pos.Bottom = rec_pos.Top + ((MAX_MAPY + 1) * PIC_Y) - ZoomOption
        rec_pos.Right = rec_pos.Left + ((MAX_MAPX + 1) * PIC_X) - ZoomOption


This amkes the actual main game smaller in the pic box, but youll get the idea

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 4:31 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:11 am
Posts: 156
Location: Australia
You think you could use the soom function for a minimap? I mean, is there a point to which it becomes useless?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 4:41 am 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:58 pm
Posts: 370
yes you can use it for a minimap, thats what i did, i find its easier to change the NPC and players with dots and items with a different clor dot, but thats pretty standard anyway

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2006 8:27 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Tue May 30, 2006 5:11 am
Posts: 156
Location: Australia
Ahhh.. Ok, thanks dude.. :D


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:47 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 120
U mean you could make something like

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/1665/minimap6yr.jpg

white cross is the player


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 5:37 am 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:15 am
Posts: 368
that's zoomed a bit too far i'm afraid...

i have a mini map, but i want to make like a minimap that does (in escense) the same thing that seemless maps would do, allowing me to easier map an entire world, seeing what lies on a particular map that is connected to my current map.

I'm going to start work on it pretty soon, i just need to finish up some other features first.

_________________
Image
Image
The quality of a man is not measured by how well he treats the knowledgeable and competent, but rather how he treats those less fortunate than himself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 5:41 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 120
No , thats a mini map on the client to help ppl if they are lost :P or something it just draws the whole map there , also notice the dark spaces? those are unexplored areas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 9:27 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 158
Krloz wrote:
U mean you could make something like

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/1665/minimap6yr.jpg

white cross is the player


*pukes* tibia....

THE game i want to get Mirage Source to take down... URGH....

but yeh, a minimap would be cool, like if it did like, sadly, tibia does and have red sq marks in a minimap for blocked places, white for other people (HAH they don't have that) and green for yourself, or something like that.... it would look pretty cool :)

_________________
Fallen Phoenix Online:
An online game world based on the Harry Potter books
www.fallenphoenix.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:12 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 120
Tosuxo wrote:
Krloz wrote:
U mean you could make something like

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/1665/minimap6yr.jpg

white cross is the player


*pukes* tibia....

THE game i want to get Mirage Source to take down... URGH....

but yeh, a minimap would be cool, like if it did like, sadly, tibia does and have red sq marks in a minimap for blocked places, white for other people (HAH they don't have that) and green for yourself, or something like that.... it would look pretty cool :)


Yep its tibia but a minimap always help to come back to city isnt it? =P

Its white for yourself , green for npcs and red for blocked areas they cant just put for other players since it will lag alot because they have 800+ players online and client cant have a track of everyone without lagging


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:25 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 158
Krloz wrote:
Tosuxo wrote:
Krloz wrote:
U mean you could make something like

http://img224.imageshack.us/img224/1665/minimap6yr.jpg

white cross is the player


*pukes* tibia....

THE game i want to get Mirage Source to take down... URGH....

but yeh, a minimap would be cool, like if it did like, sadly, tibia does and have red sq marks in a minimap for blocked places, white for other people (HAH they don't have that) and green for yourself, or something like that.... it would look pretty cool :)


Yep its tibia but a minimap always help to come back to city isnt it? =P

Its white for yourself , green for npcs and red for blocked areas they cant just put for other players since it will lag alot because they have 800+ players online and client cant have a track of everyone without lagging


you don't know much about the way tibia's client runs then lol, it only sends it like MS does but with much larger maps. like... thais would be 1 map... if that makes sense...

and that's from an OTServer anyway :P

there's no green for NPC... :S... that's for grass on that minimap lol, but it would be good for MSE to have a minimap like you said :)

_________________
Fallen Phoenix Online:
An online game world based on the Harry Potter books
www.fallenphoenix.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 12:25 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 120
Oh dont come with that I dont know tibia client >,< I been playing tibia for 6 years and I confused Tibia with ms cuz I quitted tibia long time ago =( but anyways the minimap idea is good also the map editor


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 10:08 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 158
Krloz wrote:
Oh dont come with that I dont know tibia client >,< I been playing tibia for 6 years and I confused Tibia with ms cuz I quitted tibia long time ago =( but anyways the minimap idea is good also the map editor


Tibia is about 10 years old... you say you played for 6 years, and then you've not been for a long time too...

Don't bullshit please. You've probably never used the old tibia client... i was on tibia about 5 years ago now... i can get the account creating date if you really want...

I know how the tibia client works because I studied it... and... made a lil cheat tool that does some things that famous TibiaBot does, and more... stuff which i can't tell you about :P

_________________
Fallen Phoenix Online:
An online game world based on the Harry Potter books
www.fallenphoenix.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 11:21 am 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
If he started when it came out, and then quit 6 years later, that means he quit four years ago, when i was 11.

I'd say that was a long time ago.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 11:28 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable

Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 8:20 pm
Posts: 158
Kite wrote:
If he started when it came out, and then quit 6 years later, that means he quit four years ago, when i was 11.

I'd say that was a long time ago.


if he was one of the 1-5 players that played when it first came out... nah.... too low chance.... even in 6.4 or so there were only about 200 people online at a time.... new client sucks, i quit 'cos of it... well... that an the stupid skull and soul system..

_________________
Fallen Phoenix Online:
An online game world based on the Harry Potter books
www.fallenphoenix.org


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 01, 2006 6:13 pm 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 12:11 am
Posts: 120
Kite wrote:
If he started when it came out, and then quit 6 years later, that means he quit four years ago, when i was 11.

I'd say that was a long time ago.



I dont get what u said... but I never said I played tibia since it started


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:55 am 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
No, but you said:

Quote:
I been playing tibia for 6 years and I confused Tibia with ms cuz I quitted tibia long time ago


Tosuxo said:

Quote:
Tibia is about 10 years old... you say you played for 6 years, and then you've not been for a long time too...

Don't bullshit please. You've probably never used the old tibia client... i was on tibia about 5 years ago now... i can get the account creating date if you really want...


I was simply saying that if you were on quite early, near when it came out, you could have not been on Tibia for 'a long time'...

Whatever, I was sticking up for you so stfu!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 8:43 am 
Offline
Regular

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 6:04 pm
Posts: 66
well back on topic
click here to see something cool
trust me on this one.. lol

that is done using the code provided in the second post with a few additions..


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 2:04 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:40 pm
Posts: 430
I see no point in a minimap that shows what you are already seeing :\

now if it showed the area around you...that would be cool :).


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:20 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
Actually, you could map with that. If you use that method showed on the screenshot. And make like 4 picscreens :P And make the maps load from numbers you choose. Like 4 input boxes were you choose what mapnumber to load. And some editing to the map editor :P

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 4:31 pm 
Wouldn't it be smarter to use 9 instead of 4? That way, you can map the surrounding maps as well.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:18 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:15 am
Posts: 368
yea, i was going for 9 at a time, and possibly a zoom to go further out... that way you could see what maps were connected, making mapping easier...

_________________
Image
Image
The quality of a man is not measured by how well he treats the knowledgeable and competent, but rather how he treats those less fortunate than himself.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:25 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
You are going to a very advanced thing :P

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:50 pm 
It's actually not that advanced, seems like it would be fairly easy. Just a matter of planning the logics.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 04, 2006 5:53 pm 
Offline
Pro

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 2:15 am
Posts: 368
If i do decide to do it, after i get it working i'm going to release the code here... so anyone who wants can add it for their games/engines.

It's a feature i think that no game/engine should be without, because it would help players map out the entire game so much easier.

_________________
Image
Image
The quality of a man is not measured by how well he treats the knowledgeable and competent, but rather how he treats those less fortunate than himself.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 47 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group