Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 8:22 pm

All times are UTC

Post subject: Packet Encryption
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:36 pm 
Pro

Google Talk: steve.bluez@googlemail.com
Just lately, I've noticed people duplicating items in my game, probably though packet hacking with WPE. I need an effective packet encryption tutorial to reduce the chance of some idiot messing with the packets being sent to the server.

I've no experience with networking in Visual Basic, so a good guide is going to be needed.

Thank you.

Post subject: Re: Packet Encryption
PostPosted: Tue Jan 29, 2008 6:47 pm 
Persistant Poster

rename packets like "ModifyYourItemsHereForFreeTo9999Stats" to abbreviations and numbers... such as,

say i have a packet atm called

"CreateItem"

If i rename this to:

"C18273I"

I know that this is the create item packet because it starts with C and ends with I, and also I (you) are clever enough to keep a key somewhere telling me what all the packets old names and new names are.

Now, providing you have nice server checks so that even if some noob see's through our packet they can't just send them off and get free items, regardless of how basic the encryption you put on it most nubcakes that are gay enough to try and hack a lil vb6 game will just say wtf as their packet sniffer lulz at them and their packet decrypter thingie seems not to be working =P