Mirage Source

Free ORPG making software.
It is currently Tue Sep 22, 2020 11:31 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:26 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
I reached the max amount of controls on frmMirage...

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:29 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Looks like it's time to start coding efficiently.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:35 pm 
Offline
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:03 pm
Posts: 75
You have 255 controls? 0_O

_________________
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:09 pm 
Offline
Pro
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Posts: 493
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com
I reached that a long time ago, just make objects arrays, like, don't use optGround, optMask, optAnim, optFringe, etc. Use optLayer(0), optLayer(1), optLayer(2), optLayer(3), optLayer(etc). And repeat the process... It takes a while xD

_________________
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:
www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:
I love you and your computer.Marry me.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:17 pm 
Dragoons Master wrote:
I reached that a long time ago, just make objects arrays, like, don't use optGround, optMask, optAnim, optFringe, etc. Use optLayer(0), optLayer(1), optLayer(2), optLayer(3), optLayer(etc). And repeat the process... It takes a while xD


That's pretty smart. Of course, you remove quite a bit of controls if you move the map editor.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:22 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
Dave wrote:
Looks like it's time to start coding efficiently.

It has nothing to do with that. I have so many labels due to the item description, spell description and stats menu. And also because I have so many menus..

I dont have the map editor on frmMirage. Gotta remove many controls though, so making them into arrays just counts as 1. Nice

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:23 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:00 pm
Posts: 12
Simple:
Draw everything on screen through DirectX =P

_________________
Hello... World?!
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:26 pm 
Offline
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:49 am
Posts: 28
I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:28 pm 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:00 pm
Posts: 12
bhenhur wrote:
I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.

Well depending on what each control is doing, it shouldn't slow down an average computer these days, so in reality, it's only a mess, not a something that's bad... unless you're like me and hate messes.

_________________
Hello... World?!
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:30 pm 
Offline
Submit-Happy
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Posts: 2768
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Ew. I don't even have 50 ><

_________________
Quote:
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:39 pm 
Offline
Regular
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:49 am
Posts: 28
Iluvlamp wrote:
bhenhur wrote:
I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.

Well depending on what each control is doing, it shouldn't slow down an average computer these days, so in reality, it's only a mess, not a something that's bad... unless you're like me and hate messes.


lol, cant stand messy projects & code. I sometimes take a whole minute just to come up with the best name for a variable. :?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:59 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
My frmMirage is covered with labels, lets count some on it. I got:
Spell Description: 28
Item Description: 16
Trade Menu: 26
Never mind, lets just look at this..
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/5484/hmmiw5.png

There are just so many things that I need on frmMirage. Guess I could put a few menus in other forms, but does it really matter.

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 1:33 am 
Offline
Newbie
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:00 pm
Posts: 12
bhenhur wrote:
Iluvlamp wrote:
bhenhur wrote:
I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.

Well depending on what each control is doing, it shouldn't slow down an average computer these days, so in reality, it's only a mess, not a something that's bad... unless you're like me and hate messes.


lol, cant stand messy projects & code. I sometimes take a whole minute just to come up with the best name for a variable. :?

Oh god... I need to have the perfect variable names too... *type*.... *backspace*....*type*....*backspace*...etc

If I really don't care I just use single letters =P

William wrote:
My frmMirage is covered with labels, lets count some on it. I got:
Spell Description: 28
Item Description: 16
Trade Menu: 26
Never mind, lets just look at this..
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/5484/hmmiw5.png

There are just so many things that I need on frmMirage. Guess I could put a few menus in other forms, but does it really matter.

Why not make all of the non-changing labels all object arrays. They'll only take up one count of control on the form even if you have like 100.

_________________
Hello... World?!
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 1:42 am 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Posts: 1762
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com
Why don't you draw them in real time using DirectX. You'd shrink the EXE size a ton.

_________________
I'm on Facebook! Google Plus LinkedIn My Youtube Channel Send me an email Call me with Skype Check me out on Bitbucket Yup, I'm an EVE Online player!
Why not try my app, ColorEye, on your Android devlce?
Do you like social gaming? Fight it out in Battle Juice!

I am a professional software developer in Salt Lake City, UT.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:19 am 
Offline
Knowledgeable
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:07 pm
Posts: 327
Location: Washington
There is also a Print() function... Haven't used it in a while, so I don't know the correct syntax... but you can print to the form in whatever font, in whatever location you wish. (Without a control)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:46 am 
Offline
Banned
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 9:22 pm
Posts: 394
Location: USA
Ugh, yea, Plus adding so much to a form makes it huge which makes teh EKE bigger! Ahh! I removed a ton of forms and compressed them and the filesize of the EXE went down to like 2.83MB.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: ...
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:24 pm 
Offline
Community Leader
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Posts: 2538
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com
I will remove all the edit forms efore release. There aint really many controls I can get rid of o my frmMirage..

_________________
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group