...

...

Postby William » Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:26 pm

I reached the max amount of controls on frmMirage...
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image
User avatar
William
Community Leader
 
Posts: 2535
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com

Re: ...

Postby Lea » Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:29 pm

Looks like it's time to start coding efficiently.
User avatar
Lea
Community Leader
 
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com

Re: ...

Postby Harry » Fri Jul 20, 2007 9:35 pm

You have 255 controls? 0_O
Image
User avatar
Harry
Regular
 
Posts: 75
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 7:03 pm

Re: ...

Postby Dragoons Master » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:09 pm

I reached that a long time ago, just make objects arrays, like, don't use optGround, optMask, optAnim, optFringe, etc. Use optLayer(0), optLayer(1), optLayer(2), optLayer(3), optLayer(etc). And repeat the process... It takes a while xD
http://www.blackages.com.br
Image
Dave wrote:
GameBoy wrote:www.FreeMoney.com
I admit I clicked. I immediately closed upon realizing there was, in fact, no free money.
Robin wrote:I love you and your computer.Marry me.
User avatar
Dragoons Master
Pro
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 3:26 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brasil
Google Talk: blackagesbr@gmail.com

Re: ...

Postby Matt » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:17 pm

Dragoons Master wrote:I reached that a long time ago, just make objects arrays, like, don't use optGround, optMask, optAnim, optFringe, etc. Use optLayer(0), optLayer(1), optLayer(2), optLayer(3), optLayer(etc). And repeat the process... It takes a while xD


That's pretty smart. Of course, you remove quite a bit of controls if you move the map editor.
Matt
 

Re: ...

Postby William » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:22 pm

Dave wrote:Looks like it's time to start coding efficiently.

It has nothing to do with that. I have so many labels due to the item description, spell description and stats menu. And also because I have so many menus..

I dont have the map editor on frmMirage. Gotta remove many controls though, so making them into arrays just counts as 1. Nice
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image
User avatar
William
Community Leader
 
Posts: 2535
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com

Re: ...

Postby Iluvlamp » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:23 pm

Simple:
Draw everything on screen through DirectX =P
Hello... World?!
Image
User avatar
Iluvlamp
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: ...

Postby bhenhur » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:26 pm

I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.
User avatar
bhenhur
Regular
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:49 am

Re: ...

Postby Iluvlamp » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:28 pm

bhenhur wrote:I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.

Well depending on what each control is doing, it shouldn't slow down an average computer these days, so in reality, it's only a mess, not a something that's bad... unless you're like me and hate messes.
Hello... World?!
Image
User avatar
Iluvlamp
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: ...

Postby Robin » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:30 pm

Ew. I don't even have 50 ><
Robin:
Why aren't maps and shit loaded up in a dynamic array?
Jacob:
the 4 people that know how are lazy
Robin:
Who are those 4 people?
Jacob:
um
you, me, and 2 others?


Image
User avatar
Robin
Submit-Happy
 
Posts: 2768
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 7:01 am
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: ...

Postby bhenhur » Fri Jul 20, 2007 10:39 pm

Iluvlamp wrote:
bhenhur wrote:I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.

Well depending on what each control is doing, it shouldn't slow down an average computer these days, so in reality, it's only a mess, not a something that's bad... unless you're like me and hate messes.


lol, cant stand messy projects & code. I sometimes take a whole minute just to come up with the best name for a variable. :?
User avatar
bhenhur
Regular
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Jun 02, 2007 6:49 am

Re: ...

Postby William » Sat Jul 21, 2007 12:59 am

My frmMirage is covered with labels, lets count some on it. I got:
Spell Description: 28
Item Description: 16
Trade Menu: 26
Never mind, lets just look at this..
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/5484/hmmiw5.png

There are just so many things that I need on frmMirage. Guess I could put a few menus in other forms, but does it really matter.
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image
User avatar
William
Community Leader
 
Posts: 2535
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com

Re: ...

Postby Iluvlamp » Sat Jul 21, 2007 1:33 am

bhenhur wrote:
Iluvlamp wrote:
bhenhur wrote:I know I'm suppose to be supportive of you William, but having 200+ controls on one form is ridiculas. I know i saw a lot of controls on the form when i looked at it but i didn't know it was 200+.

Well depending on what each control is doing, it shouldn't slow down an average computer these days, so in reality, it's only a mess, not a something that's bad... unless you're like me and hate messes.


lol, cant stand messy projects & code. I sometimes take a whole minute just to come up with the best name for a variable. :?

Oh god... I need to have the perfect variable names too... *type*.... *backspace*....*type*....*backspace*...etc

If I really don't care I just use single letters =P

William wrote:My frmMirage is covered with labels, lets count some on it. I got:
Spell Description: 28
Item Description: 16
Trade Menu: 26
Never mind, lets just look at this..
http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/5484/hmmiw5.png

There are just so many things that I need on frmMirage. Guess I could put a few menus in other forms, but does it really matter.

Why not make all of the non-changing labels all object arrays. They'll only take up one count of control on the form even if you have like 100.
Hello... World?!
Image
User avatar
Iluvlamp
Newbie
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Jul 17, 2007 8:00 pm

Re: ...

Postby Lea » Sat Jul 21, 2007 1:42 am

Why don't you draw them in real time using DirectX. You'd shrink the EXE size a ton.
User avatar
Lea
Community Leader
 
Posts: 1762
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:29 pm
Location: Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Google Talk: Darunada@gmail.com

Re: ...

Postby Verrigan » Sat Jul 21, 2007 2:19 am

There is also a Print() function... Haven't used it in a while, so I don't know the correct syntax... but you can print to the form in whatever font, in whatever location you wish. (Without a control)
User avatar
Verrigan
Knowledgeable
 
Posts: 327
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 10:07 pm
Location: Washington

Re: ...

Postby James » Sat Jul 28, 2007 6:46 am

Ugh, yea, Plus adding so much to a form makes it huge which makes teh EKE bigger! Ahh! I removed a ton of forms and compressed them and the filesize of the EXE went down to like 2.83MB.
User avatar
James
Banned
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Jun 05, 2006 9:22 pm
Location: USA

Re: ...

Postby William » Sun Jul 29, 2007 1:24 pm

I will remove all the edit forms efore release. There aint really many controls I can get rid of o my frmMirage..
I'm on Facebook!My Youtube Channel Send me an email
Image
User avatar
William
Community Leader
 
Posts: 2535
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 1:00 pm
Location: Sweden
Google Talk: johansson_tk@hotmail.com


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron